WOMEN IN PARLIAMENT FROM 1957, ELECTED AND APPOINTED

Ivy Joshua

Member for North Windward – 3rd October, 1957 Member for North Windward: 15/9/1966-8/2/1972 Member for North Windward, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Housing: 4th May, 1972 – 9th May, 1974 Member for North Windward, Leader of the Opposition: 1977 - 27th October, 1979 *People's Political Party: 1957-1979*

Valcina Agatha Ash Senator: 27th October, 1979 Government Senator: 27th December, 1979- 15th September, 1983 Member for Central Leeward: 10th November, 1983- 12th April, 1984 *St. Vincent Labour Party:* 1979-1989

Yvonne Gibson

West St. George, Minister of State/Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Youth and Women's Affairs: 13th June, 1989 – 13th January, 1994 Minister of Health and the Environment: 21st March, 1994 – 18th December, 1997 Minister in the Prime Minister's Office: 12th February, 1998 – 12th March, 1998 *New Democratic Party: 1989-1998*

Mary Hutchinson Government Senator: 23rd August, 1984 – 5th March, 1987 Government Senator/Deputy Speaker: 23rd June, 1987 – 3rd June, 1991 *New Democratic Party: 1989 - 1991*

Stephanie Browne

Government Senator: 31st August, 1989 – 3rd June, 1991 Member for Southern Grenadines: 13th June, 1991 – 15th January, 1992 Parliamentary Secretary/Prime Minister's Office/Ministry of Finance: 16th April, 1992- 17th December, 1992

Parliamentary Secretary/Ministry of Health and the Environment: 25th May, 1993 – 13th January, 1994 Minister of State/Ministry of Communications and Works: 21st March, 1994 – 16th December, 1994 Minister of State/Prime Minister's Office: 26th January, 1995- 18th December, 1997 Minister of Health and the Environment: 12th February, 1998 – 12th March, 1998 *New Democratic Party: 1994- 1998*

Giryln Miguel

Member for Marriaqua: 1998-2015 Minister of Social Development, Co-operatives, The Family, Gender and Ecclesiastical Affairs: 17th April, 2001 – 16th January, 2003 Minister of Agriculture, Lands and Fisheries: 20th February, 2003 – 3 November, 2005 Minister of Education: 29th December, 2005 – 9th November, 2010 Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Education: 29th December, 2010- 19th October, 2015 *Unity Labour Party: 1998-2015*

Carla Dougan-Bacchus: 2000 Government Senator/Deputy Speaker: 1st February, 2000-20th October, 2000 *New Democratic Party: 2000*

Rene Baptiste West Kingstown, Minister of Tourism and Culture: 17th April, 2001 – 9th November, 2009 Ministry of Urban Development, Culture, Labour and Electoral Matters: 29th December, 2005 - 9th November, 2010 *Unity Labour Party: 2001- 2010*

Juliet George Government Senator: 17th April, 2001 – 16th January, 2003 Deputy Speaker: 20th February, 2003 – 3rd November, 2005 *Unity Labour Party: 2001-2005*

Andrea Young Government Senator: 17th April, 2001 – 6th December, 2002 Deputy Speaker: 16th January, 2003 *Unity Labour Party: 2001-2003*

Vynette Frederick Opposition Senator: 20th January, 2011- 19th October, 2015 *New Democratic Party: 2011-2015*

Anesia Baptiste Opposition Senator: 29th December, 2010 – 28th February, 2012 *New Democratic Party: 2010-2012*

Rochelle Forde Government Senator/Deputy Speaker: 29th December, 2005 – 29th January, 2010 *Unity Labour Party: 2005-2010*

Michelle Fife Government Senator/Parliamentary Secretary Prime Minister's Office: 19th January, 2010 – 9th November, 2010 *Unity Labour Party: 2010*

Deborah Charles Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, National Reconciliation and Ecclesiastical Affairs: 29th December, 2015 *Unity Labour Party 2015*

Marcia Sherlon Barnwell Opposition Senator: 29 the December, 2015 *New Democratic Party 2015*